Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
1986 L'Encantada 30 Year Old "Domaine Le Frêche" Cask #44 Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
In a lot of ways the 1986 Le Freche is the perfect Armagnac. At the ripe old age of 30 and naturally reduced through evaporation to an extremely appealing and not all challenging 47%, this spirit has achieved near perfection. The elegance and complexity reminds us more of superb old style Highland Malt, subtle sherry-like influences paired with the exotic and delicate nature of the most high end brandies. The raw intensity of the Lous Pibous Casks is substituted for a precision and focus that I've rarely seen matched in my 10+ years buying and tasting spirits. The result is something so unabashedly drinkable. It's extremely difficult to pinpoint exactly why this cask is so special. The simple fact is there's almost nothing in the world that tastes this good at anywhere close to this price. The color is auburn and shimmering garnet. The nose is pure rancio, leather, licorice, stewed plums, salted stone fruits, burning embers. The palate is textured and full. Unctuous and open but not has hard edged as some of these other cask strength. Bold herbal notes revolve around the overripe fruit building toward an almost smoky savory sandalwood finish. This is already a contender for my favorite spirit of 2018!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 12 per customer

2016 Domaine de Marcoux Cotes-du-Rhone
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
Marcoux was my winery of the year last year for their incredible Chateauneuf releases. The 2015s were expressive, classic and layered with so much potential that they will surely deliver the goods over the next two decades.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Roger Sabon "Rhone by Roger Sabon"
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
Sabon was one of our break out stars for our 2015 Chateauneuf campaign and 2016 looks to be equally great. How do we know? Taste this 2016 Cotes du Rhone-esque bottling from them. For $12, you get a fleshy rich and ultimately very satisfying wine that delivers layers of delicious Rhone pleasure. With the quality of 2016 showing through this humble little wine, there is no need to wait months for the CDPs. You can enjoy this gem right now.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Huët "Le Haut-Lieu" Vouvray Sec
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
The Loire Valley chenin blancs are some of the best in the world, and Domaine Huet is widely accepted as the top producer of them. The Haut-Lieu Vouvray Sec is a superbly crafted wine, with a rich aroma profile of golden apples with saffron spice, elderflower honey and cinnamon. The flavors are focused by great minerals and vibrant acidity into a long, clean finish. It’s truly one of the world’s top white wines at what amounts to a bargain price.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
There may a problem with this gin in that it goes down a little too easily, dare I say that this is a super crushable gin. A beautiful nose that is resplendent with botanical notes still manages to come off as soft and clean. There is a lovely nutty and floral balance happening here with some sweet citrus and a line of clean acid driving the body. What really struck me about this gin was how the softly sweet floral, almond, bergamot, and juniper all managed to work so well together by giving lots of flavor that is clean and far to easy to drink.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Ferrand Dry Orange Curacao (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
Mixing to the highest tiki standards, I picked up a bottle of this to make the classic mai tai and zombie. I've always kept a bottle of Grand Marnier on hand to dribble into margaritas, but when I ran out of Grand Marnier I substituted this Ferrand Curacao in my margarita and I liked it even better... flavorful and characterful and not too sweet. I don't miss those squat Grand Marnier bottles hogging shelf space in my liquor cabinet so I an pour 3/4oz now an then. They shall not return. Ferrand is my one-stop orange liqueur now.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2016 Julien Schaal Kastleberg Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
This Riesling from Kastelberg vineyard has distinctive red apple aromas and flavors similar to McIntosh apples, citrus pith, white grapefruit and pomelo with heavier mineral content that comes from schist soil. It's dry, bold and muscular style of Riesling.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2016 Julien Schaal Rosacker Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
Beautiful and extremely complex Riesling. On the nose it explodes with aromas of lemon, citrus blossom, honeysuckle and meadow flowers accompanied by mineral notes reminiscent of chalk soil.On the palate it's fry, crisp full-bodied Riesling with juicy mouthwatering citrus fruit and Forelle pear with long lasting mineral finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g)
Reviwer Picture By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
These are totally worth it and this little jar goes a long way. My favorite use is the Three Dots and a Dash tiki drink, but the applications here are far-reaching. Be "nose to tail" and spoon the extra syrup on some ice cream or something. It's amazing. Just *DON'T PUT THE OPEN JAR IN THE FRIDGE*. It will crystalize and get ruined. This stuff is so sweet like molasses it's completely preserved at room temperature, and the label will tell you so as well.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Dugois Savagnin Arbois Blanc (Sous Voile)
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
A stellar example of this style of Jura white and a bargain to boot. This is rich, nutty and leesy with flavors of waxy stone fruit and hints of clarified butter. The sherry-like finish has a saline, mineral tang that begs for another sip.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2016 Moulin de la Gardette "Petite Gardette" Gigondas
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
I have been a loyal fan of Gardette Gigondas since the great 1998 vintage yet had never tried this bargain price cuvee fashioned from their younger vines. Simply put: WOW. Perhaps this lacks the density of the more expensive bottlings but all of the ripe cherry, berry and spiced raspberry fruit is there in spades along with aromas of earth, potpourri and roasted herb. This is just as complex and delicious as its bigger brothers just a bit more user friendly.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine des Remizières Crozes-Hermitage
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
This delicious bargain Syrah seems to be getting a bit richer with each new vintage yet retains all white pepper and violet aromas as well as the palate coating but fresh blue and black fruits. This is an all around great N. Rhone red that over delivers.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Cardonne, Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
This dark and punchy wine has a deep core of purple fruit that shows off the power of the vintage. The firm and intense middle of blackberry leads to a finish of very ripe tannins that will allow further ageing although those with a decanter need wait no further.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
This super value N. Rhone white is a bit more vibrant and focused than the last vintage. Aromas of dried fruit, wet stone, ginger and lanolin are followed by a middle filled with ripe stone fruit.. The peach, apricot and nectarine flavors are all infused with palate cleansing minerals.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 WS 92

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color, lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. I would drink this now and over the next couple of years.

Evan Williams 1783 No 10 Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
This is a perfect bourbon. It's super soft and mellow with a great supple sweetness on the front and mid palate. Then it kicks up on the back end with the fantastic spicy notes of cracked peppercorn and cinnamon. And it's really inexpensive. Cheap even. Bring me bottles booze that taste this good for this little money and I'll take that deal every time.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Julien Schaal Rosacker Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
I just couldn't believe this wine when I tasted it...I was even more stunned when I learned the price! Almost certainly one of the best deals on any wine in our inventory. A truly world class Grand Cru Riesling from one of the most prestigious vineyards on the planet for $20!? Piercing chalky minerality, a generous, powerful mouthfeel but loaded with tension and coiled intensity. The old vines really express themselves here. An ultimately terroir driven wine from one of the most distinctive and celebrated terroirs of them all the Clos St. Hune.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2016 Julien Schaal Kastleberg Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
A super focused, racy, bright rendition of Alsatian Riesling thanks to its Blue Schist origins. Spring blossom, crunchy orchard fruits, citrus peel, wet stone. Dry and zesty but with weight and texture too. Stunning value for Grand Cru Riesling.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2016 Julien Schaal Rosacker Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
With 95 points from Wine Enthusiast, The Julien Schaal Rosacker Grand Cru is light, crisp, quite dry, and with a brighter perceptible acid than the Kastleberg Grand Cru from the same producer and vintage. The name "Calcaire" comes from the rose strewn vineyard's limestone, calcium rich soil. With a beautiful light golden hue, the wine displays aromas of faint petrol, lemon pith, under ripe green apple, and orange blossom, with a chalky, mineral finish that won't quit.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
I must admit that these bubbles puzzled me at first, it was obviously Champagne, I read the label, it came in a Champagne bottle but there was something different. It took me about 10 minutes to figure it out, this wine just has a more vinous complexity to it, and the 7 years on the lees really changed the dynamic of the wine. Yes there were bubbles and it seemed like a regular Champagne on your tongue but the flavors were not so simple. I really liked this wine the more I tried it, the super dryness almost flinty on your palate then slowly the layers of brioche, spice and mineral emerge. The more I tasted it the more it seemed like Chablis with bubbles, so strident, focused and lemony tartness with bits of baking spice complexity, all it needed was the right dish to pair with it. Oysters immediately came to mind but I’m thinking lobster and butter is what this bubbly needs, the richness of the lobster and the vibrant focus of the Baron Fuente 7, wow, a perfect match.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Our best value Barbaresco is back! At $20 this ruby color wine starts with a perfect blend of fresh fruit and earth aromatics while hints of anise intensify the savory aspect of the wine. A bright acidity meets the medium body and medium tannin structure on the palate. A touch of toasted oak spice keep the wine fragrant with coriander and fennel seeds while the dense red fruit keep the mid-palate gently weighted.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2015 The Opportunist Shiraz Langhorne Creek South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This is a different take on Aussie Shiraz than most of our customers are used to as it comes from Langhorne Creek in South Australia. The cooling maritime influence this region possesses give this wine a lighter, slightly more saline/mineral-driven style instead of a deep, rich, supple one. There is still plenty of fruit here to showcase the varietal, but it's presented in a different way than from a region such as the Barossa. If you've been avoiding Shiraz from Oz because you think it's too fat or high in alcohol, or if you just want to taste a good, interesting Shiraz, this wine should be your next buy.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

2010 Domaine Dugois Vin Jaune Arbois (620ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This nutty, cheesy, yeasty masterpiece has that ever interesting oxidative edge with tart lemon, roasted nut, and mineral flavors. Underlying yellow fruits and spices give complexity and pleasant nuance to the overall character. This is the best wine that I have tried in the last two weeks, bar none!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Huët "Le Haut-Lieu" Vouvray Demi-Sec
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
I’ve always enjoyed the wines from Domaine Huët. This latest bottling from them proves to be no exception. Aromas of lemon zest, candied peaches, and tangerines play with aromas of stones, wool, sweet florals, and straw. On the palate, ripe stone and orchard fruit flavors are accompanied by stone minerality, straw, Meyer lemon, and lemon curd. A lifted acidity gives freshness without taking away from the lovely, weightier texture. It has similar sweetness to a German spätlese Riesling. A great choice with various cheeses, butternut squash soup, or baked ham.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 96

2016 Julien Schaal Kastleberg Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This is delicious, dry, Grand Cru Riesling for $20. Notes of crisp Fuji apple, chamomile and wet stone with a slightly rounder mouthfeel and toned down acidity make this accessible and easy drinking. This wine has great length and a ton of elegance. A definite must for lovers of Riesling.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2013 Domaine Dugois Savagnin Arbois Blanc (Sous Voile)
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
I am still bowled over from tasting this wine today. An impressive nose of white stone fruits, fino sherry, almonds and rhubarb. An interesting blend of oxidation, laser acidity and underlying, delicate fruit. One of the most pleasurable white wines that I have had in months.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2016 Julien Schaal Rosacker Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
A lovely and fun Alsatian Riesling that is a perfect choice for your next dinner party. An initial bouquet of orange blossom and wet stones followed by tangerine zest, mandarin, lime, and green apple aromas. Zippy on the palate, with flavors of lime juice, stone minerality, lemon pith, and meyer lemon. The acidity is high, but what makes this wine so inviting is the inherent freshness, making it a great option as both an aperitif or with food pairing applications. An overall great value!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2014 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Emilie" Hermitage
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Another example of what Syrah should REALLY taste like! Deep, blackberry fruit, hints of chalk and licorice, lush, full and complex. The finish goes on and on and on. Simply put, just a wonderful release from this producer that gives immediate gratification and pleasure.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 92

2015 Ferraton Père et Fils "Les Grands Muriers" Cornas
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Wow! What a stunner this is! A nose of wet gravel and dark boysenberries. Very dark (almost black) red fruits on the palate with schist, a touch of cola, and baking spices. It is just absolutely delicious and balanced and well, FUN! This is what Syrah is supposed to be!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 - 95

2015 Trinity Hill "Homage" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Easily one of my favorite wines I have tried within the past year. The origins of Homage have their roots in the northern Rhône, with founding Winemaker John Hancock working there during the 1996 harvest. Trinity Hill first planted Syrah vines in 1995 at Gimblett Gravels, with cuttings from Hermitage specifically being planted in 2001. Both the original plantings and subsequent Hermitage vines are used to make Homage. The nose invites you with aromas of perfectly ripe blackberry, plum, and boysenberry. The bouquet is wide ranging, exhibiting spicy black pepper and floral potpourri, to woodsy characteristics, grilled meat, and charcuterie. On the palate, the wine possesses both power and grace. Berry medley, currants, and plum flavors are accompanied by lingering fine tannins. There is a noted herbal and garrigue flavor, with elevated acidity as well. The spicy flavor notes and robust nature of this wine make it suitable with North African cuisine. Think lamb tagine as a possible food pairing. This New Zealand Syrah clearly demonstrates its ability to last another 10-20 years with proper cellaring. An all-around showstopper of a wine
Drink from 2022 to 2022

2014 Tessendey, Fronsac
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This starts with muted aromas of clay and raspberry in a fresh and clean style. This is a great easy going and gulpable bargain for any Tuesday night.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2014 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
The rich and brawny style of Chante Cigale is slightly toned down in the lively 2014 vintage allowing for a bit more up front complexity to emerge even at this early stage. There are undertones of darker fruit to go with the brighter flavors of red fruits, licorice, nori, Asian spice and roasted herb. There is fantastic energy in this approachable and value priced CNP from a small family producer. Drink tonight or lay a few bottles away.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine du Vieil Orme Malbec-Cabernet Franc Touraine Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Equal parts Malbec and Cabernet Franc and delightfully delicious. The middle is round, dark and juicy from the Malbec but the soaring raspberry aromatics and savory herb and tobacco laced finish screams Cabernet Franc through and through. This is exactly the kind of inexpensive bottle you always want to have handy to pop open on a whim or to match to practically any Tuesday night cuisine. A case purchase for sure.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2015 Comartin Cellars "R-Bar-R Ranch" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This starts with concentrated aromas of smoky black cherries, ripe plums, roasted herbs and charred oak. The fruity middle is fine and detailed and leads to a long, sweet finish. This is very well made.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2015 Matthiasson Napa Valley White Wine Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This has flowery aromas of honeysuckle and verbena and a middle of crushed orchard fruit. The finish is refreshing, very complex and hints at mandarin.
Price: $38.95 Add To Cart

2016 Matthiasson "Linda Vista Vineyard" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Stone fruit, crunchy golden raisen and crisp apple form the core of this steely and intense wine. The Chablis-like finish is palate cleansing and will have you reaching for another glass.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Precedent "Evangelho Vineyard" Contra Costa County Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Very bright, clean and juicy with tons of mixed berries and spice in the middle. this is pure, fresh and savory with meaty notes on the long, focused finish. This middleweight wine tastes the way Zin use to taste before the invasion of new oak barrels. Lip smacking, mouthwatering and palate cleansing.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Huët "Le Haut-Lieu" Vouvray Demi-Sec
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This wine was a total shocker for me. I always prefer the Haut Lieu Sec but, this Demi-Sec is a stunner! Orange marmalade, peach, and the right hint of citrus make this wine elegantly balanced. The slight bit of honey on the finish is not cloying and actually makes it even more interesting. A perfect cellar candidate! It will be interesting to see where this one goes with some years under its belt. At this price, I daresay it is even a good value.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 96

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
At first, I found this unique release to be chalky with spiced nuts (on the nose) and saline scents. Once the air hit it, yellow apple and guava came to the forefront and then, the chardonnay citrus definitely took over. Creamy, but, the lemon and spice flavors dominate in the end. To date, the most interesting release that we have had from this venerable producer and that includes the Meunier heavy releases that I love so much. Well worth the wait for us to acquire it!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Trinity Hill "Homage" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
The top scores across every publication are well deserved given the incredible complexity and quality of this wine. While it is showing a little tight and structured now, it most definitely has the capacity to age beautifully. The smaller yields of 2015 give this wine great concentration and definite black pepper spice at this stage in its life. It is lean and bright and a little grippy, but will open up, show its fruit, soften its tannins and will become an absolutely phenomenal wine in a few years time. The cool New Zealand climate has done its work here and given us a wine with depth and intricacy. One of the stand-outs from Hawke's Bay and any lover of past vintages should jump on this one as well.

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
In contrast to the zesty 2008, this newly released 2009 is essentially lush with (browned) apple butter, yellow fruits and caramel. While lush on the palate, it does have a nice, clean finish with fine acidity, Meyer lemon and nectarines. Another vintage gem from Baron Fuente!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Calwise Spiced Rum (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Historically we don't really carry spiced rums here. You won't find Cap'n Mo' or any tattooed sailors on our shelves. Not that those aren't tasty, but they don't exactly capture the imagination. The spiced rum from Calwise has so much brightness to it. Made from molasses, not any caramel additives, it's dosed with a strong orange peel kick, nutmeg and ginger. The ginger in particular lights up your palate and leaves you feeling fresh and snappy. This is a slam dunk for casual cocktails or elevate your bartending game and find the perfect set of ingredients to really bring out the complexity in the rum.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Calwise Blonde Rum (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
It is so refreshing to taste something that is actually made by the people selling it, not just a label slapped on someone else's work. Better yet, it's great to drink something in the craft spirits world that I actually want to drink cause it tastes good. I was pumped when Calwise spirits found its way into my glass. The blonde rum is pot distilled rum from Louisiana sugar cane. This is a perfect starter rum if you're interested in the funky fruity esters that make rums like Hampden prized all over the world, but you're not ready to drive in deep into the world of funk. The blonde rum has just a hint of that funkiness. It's a little floral, it's loaded with pineapple, boasts an agave fruit sweetness and gets mellowed in California Chardonnay barrels to round it out with a creamy palate. Super fun for cocktails and sipping alike.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Grand Cru Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This is one of the more low-profile super-values in our direct import portfolio. Elisabeth Egrot used to sell under her maiden name, Goutourbe, to a large and dedicated fan base. Her new name hasn’t quite gained the same traction, but her wines are better than ever. This superb vintage offering comes entirely from the Grand Cru village from Ay, from a vintage renowned for the power of its fruit. The richness and depth of the fruit manifest with flavors of gala apple, anjou pear, sweet Meyer lemon, and dried apricots, with equally intense acidity and minerals (no dosage was added creating superb balance.) Incredible for sub-$40 Champagne.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2011 Chateau Montelena "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: James Knight | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
2011, rain, boo, right? Nope, think again on this one: Montelena is so old school about their picking regime, they picked before the drenching rains of the later fall of 2011. The rest of the year was cool, true, but basically the year that Napa became Bordeaux-for-a-season. This wine, tasted January 2018, initially shows an aroma that could be called herbal, maybe mineral, but then the red fruit flavor shows up, intense and alluring. It's the vintage, out of a lineup, I kept thinking about again.

2010 Chateau Montelena "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon (1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: James Knight | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
The 2010 vintage may not have been as talked up as the more forward 2007, but this wine comes on like a more subdued version of 2007: a savory, sage aroma with a dusty, gravelly background opens up to a medley of brown baking spices and sweet fruit, finally, revealing itself on the palate. Clean, old school Cab! Tasted from 1.5L, January, 2018.

2016 Julien Schaal Kastleberg Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
This wine has a lot to offer for lovers of dry Riesling. There is a beautiful subtle nose. In the mouth are bright and juicy light fruit flavors with a layer of mineral notes. A nice dry finish helps wrap up this package.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2016 Julien Schaal Rosacker Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
This is for people who are looking for a excellent dry Riesling. There are beautiful delicate aromas that are subtle and inviting. In the mouth it is pure with nice light fruit, a hint of minerals and a dry finish that gives this wine a nice balance.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2015 Trinity Hill "Homage" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
The past two vintages of this remarkable Syrah sold out in a matter of days and it's very easy to see why. On the palate, this is dead ringer for a refined, cool, and vibrant Northern Rhone collectible - a young and extremely promising bottling. Perhaps a bit more lift and tension than the past few vintages, it has all the structure and depth to age for a few decades but will turn heads even now with a good decant. If you're looking for finesse in Syrah, or value in collectible, ageworthy reds, this is a bottling that needs to be on your radar.

2015 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Rosso di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
Baccinetti Rosso di Montalcino is very likely to be one of our best values from Tuscany this year. It far exceeds its price and delivers a level of complexity and depth of fruit we don't normally find at $15. Thanks to the 2015 vintage, this wine has all of its usual irresistible features of spiced red fruits, sandalwood and forest floor yet with greater weight and concentration on the palate. It's a real sleeper pick from one of our favorite Montalcino families.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>