Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Heather Vander Wall

Heather Vander Wall
Heather Vander Wall  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2014 Eric Kent "Sascha Marie" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-15-2018
If you are a fan of Russian River Pinot Noir, this little wine from Eric Kent is well worth your while. With fruit coming from both Russian River and Petaluma Gap, the wine is on the fuller-bodied side of Pinot, with rich, dark fruit and velvety tannins. Although I'm not typically a fan of bigger-style Pinot Noirs, this is a definite exception. The balance and finesse of the wine is truly outstanding. While it is drinking very well now, it does certainly have the bones to age for a few more years as well.

2016 Ledge "G2 Vineyard" Willow Creek District Grenache Blanc
Review Date: 01-15-2018
This Grenache Blanc is a great example of a white wine which not only has beautiful aromatics, but great complexity and depth on the palate. The heady, floral aromas of this lovely wine give way to soft orchard fruits such as pear and white peach on the palate. It's kept lively by a finish of crisp citrus-loaded acidity. The whole flows very seamlessly together, keeping a coherent line of elegance from start to finish.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2014 Comartin Cellars "Tierra Alta Vineyard" Grenache Santa Ynez
Review Date: 01-15-2018
Grenache is not often featured in the US, and even in France it is typically found in a blend, yet this grape can be one of the most elegant and expressive wines I've ever encountered. Our friends at Comartin have come out with just such a bottling of Grenache! This is a lighter bodied wine, with lovely red plum and violet notes. It has a Pinot-like quality with smooth, fine tannin and aromatically-driven red fruit. I'd be hard-pressed to find a wine that I'd rather open and drink on almost any occasion.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2014 Eric Kent "1KM West" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-15-2018
This Chardonnay is exactly what I would hope from the best of Sonoma Coast fruit. It's elegant and full-bodied, without being overly ripe or oak-influenced. The dominate notes here are citrus and floral aromas, followed by a luscious lemon curd on the palate, that retains its freshness and poise with an underlying clean, crisp acidity. Overall a phenomenal wine--Chardonnay displaying its most beguiling characteristics and all in keeping with the beautiful Sonoma Coast climate.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Eric Kent "Atoosa's Vineyard" Russian River Valley Syrah
Review Date: 01-15-2018
This is a beautifully made syrah. It exhibits all the polish and finesse that we've come to anticipate from Eric Kent, yet without diminishing the raw, gamey quality of the grape. The wine is full-bodied with plenty of black currant and huckleberry notes up front, but with a lovely smoked meat quality on the finish and very subtle savory herbal notes. The tannins are firm, but ripe, and will certainly allow for aging if desired.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 01-13-2018
If you like delicate, lighter-style red Burgundy that's aromatically oriented, this is a wine you must try. Despite the warmer vintage, this Burgundy has retained its elegance and light-bodied poise. This is a more classic expression of the region, combining crunchy cranberry and sweet baking spice with soft, fine tannin. This will easily be a favorite of mine once the warmer weather hits, and is perfect now with lighter dishes or all on its own.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chateau Vitallis Macon-Fuissé
Review Date: 01-13-2018
Chateau Vitallis continues to shine with another great vintage in 2016! This bottling of their entry level white is light, fun, flexible and complex. With a lovely nose of honeysuckle and papaya, delicate orchard fruit on the palate, and crisp, refreshing acidity, the wine is built to complement food. It's easy to pair this with anything from seafood to poultry to cured meats.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Mongeard-Mugneret Fixin Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 01-12-2018
Another beautiful vintage of Mongeard-Mugneret's Fixin! In the last few years, I've become enamored of this producer, particularly their wines from the lesser-known villages, such as Fixin. Not only does the wine display great depth of fruit, a polished character, and fine-boned tannin, but its elegance and balance is truly remarkable. There are layers of fruit, spice, earth, and savory elements here, all poised to deliver a truly remarkable wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
BH 88 - 90

2015 Joseph Drouhin Côte de Nuits-Villages
Review Date: 01-12-2018
This is an outstanding value, even within the plethora of 2015 bargains that we've seen recently. While the Cote de Nuits region can be somewhat of a mixed bag, this bottle is absolutely stunning. The character is closer to that of a Gevrey-Chambertin, with just a touch of Chambolle-Musigny elegance. The wine has beautiful aromatics with a layered spice and earth component that plays off the deep black cherry fruit. Absolutely lovely now, but I'd bet on this developing incredibly well over the next few years if you're willing to put a few in your cellar!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 01-12-2018
It's time to hurry in and buy your Bavard Blanc before we are out again! Unfortunately we were only able to buy smaller amounts from Bavard in this vintage, but what we do have is highly worth your while! While we have been a big fan of this producer for awhile now, the 2015 vintage is absolutely flawless. Bavard has struck the perfect chord with his Blanc, achieving a true Puligny character, with a great depth of fruit and minerality in the core, balanced by clean floral notes and a citrus-driven acidity. This wine is likely one of the best values in our White Burgundy offerings to date.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Laroche "St Martin" Chablis
Review Date: 01-12-2018
This little wine has a lot to offer! With the warmer vintage in 2015, village level Chablis has shown outstanding quality, and Domaine Laroche's "St. Martin" is one of my favorites of the vintage. This wine is fuller and more robust than your typical Chablis, and has all the structure to age for a few years. It has a character similar to one of the lesser Grand Crus, or a top-tier premier cru, such as Montee de Tonnerre, with poised acidity, full fruit and generous minerality. At this price, I'm tempted to "case up" as we say...
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Adegas Valtea Albariño Rias Baixas
Review Date: 01-05-2018
One of my favorite producers from Rias Baixas is a smaller winery called Adegas Valtea. Their Albarino comes from a vineyard slightly more inland than the bigger producers, but still very much influenced by the coastal climate. This wine is crisp, tangy and bright, with plenty of mineral notes and some pretty citrus aromatics. Of course, this is a natural partner to seafood, and works well also with appetizers and cured meats.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 01-05-2018
White Rioja certainly deserves to be better known than it is. And here is an excellent way to delve into this delightful category! This wine is made by a pair of brothers working in a small winery in northern Rioja, and is composed entirely of Viura. The wine has some soft orchard fruit (apple and pear), but remains light and crisp in style. It is extremely food-friendly, and works well with anything from seafood to salad.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2014 Roserock (Drouhin Oregon) Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-05-2018
One of the newest projects by Domaine Drouhin Oregon, is the Roserock wines. These wines come from a newer vineyard acquisition for Domaine Drouhin, but the vineyard itself is one of the oldest in the area. Planted back in the 1970's, this site now has fully mature vines and the quality of the fruit is fantastic. Combined with the passion and poise of the wine-making from Domaine Drouhin, the resultant wine is very dynamic. I'm a huge fan of this new label by Drouhin, and would highly recommend the wine to anyone looking for the best Oregon has to offer.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 90

2015 Roserock (Drouhin Oregon) Eola-Amity Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-05-2018
One of the newest projects by Domaine Drouhin Oregon, is the Roserock wines. These wines come from a newer vineyard acquisition for Domaine Drouhin, but the vineyard itself is one of the oldest in the area. Planted back in the 1970's, this site now has fully mature vines and the quality of the fruit is fantastic. Combined with the passion and poise of the wine-making from Domaine Drouhin, the resultant wine is very dynamic. I'm a huge fan of this new label by Drouhin, and would highly recommend the wine to anyone looking for the best Oregon has to offer.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2015 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-05-2018
Consistently one of my favorite Californian Pinot Noirs at this price! Bishop's Peak is made by Talley Winery, and the fruit comes from a vineyard neighboring the Talley estate. The quality of the wine-making is excellent, and like all the Talley wines, showcases a style whose middle name is balance. The Bishop's Peak Pinot is full of bright, red fruits such as cranberry and raspberry, with an elegant hint of clove spice, and a soft, fine tannin. On the palate the wine is medium to lighter bodied, but with ripe berry fruit following through to the finish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2016 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 01-05-2018
We've just received another shipment of one of Sancerre's finest wines! Franck and Betty Millet might not be on the cover of Wine Spectator, but they are superstars at K&L. We discovered the Millets back in the 90's, and their wines have only become better with each forthcoming vintage. The "Insolite" bottling marks their highest tier wine, grown all in white chalk, limestone soils, and it is truly one of the best expressions of Sancerre character that I've come across.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Verquière Côtes du Rhône-Villages Sablet
Review Date: 01-05-2018
Domaine de Verquiere came to my attention earlier this past year, and I was amazed at the elegance and quality of the wines coming from this small, family-owned winery. Their wines tend to favor Grenache, but the Sablet also features Syrah, Mourvedre, and Cinsault, which makes for a bolder expression. The wine is medium bodied, with fine tannin and silky red fruit, accented by clay and spice notes. While not, perhaps, carrying the prestige of a larger producer in a more famous region, Domaine de Verquiere has quietly achieved a reputation with our staff of true, hand-crafted excellence that outshines its modest price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-05-2018
Don't shy away from this excellent Cabernet due to the newer AVA! This wine came to our attention a couple of vintages ago, and has consistently been one of our top recommendations every since. Each year the quality of the fruit and the unique soil profile together with the insightful wine-making, result in a Cabernet almost too good to be true at this price. Looking for excellent quality California Cabernet that won't break the bank? Give this wine a try, and I'm betting you'll quickly be back for more.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

2014 Hacienda Solano Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 01-05-2018
Here is an excellent addition to our Spanish offerings! The wines of Ribera del Duero are often more hefty and intense than their neighbors in Rioja, and this wine doesn't stray from the profile. However, big and bold as this wine is, it yet retains an excellent sense of balance. The dominate force here is a great sense of terroir--cool black fruit elevated by a mineral note from the soil, and accented by a kiss of French oak. You can feel the depth and character from the old vine fruit as well. The bolder side of Tempranillo is underscored and showcased very well here.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-05-2018
An altogether lovely wine! The blend is slightly more Merlot dominate in this vintage, which adds to the silky texture and the lovely black-fruit perfume. Although this wine is still on the young side for drinking, it has all the components in place, and will undoubtedly prove the quality of this Chateau with a little extra time in the cellar.

2014 La Reserve de Malartic, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-05-2018
This lovely wine exhibits fresh berry notes on entry, with boysenberry and red raspberry dominating. It achieves an excellent structural balance of tannin and acidity that holds the fruit in check and rounds out the wine nicely. You could certainly drink this now with a good decanting, but it will undoubtedly improve with some time in the cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 01-05-2018
This is an excellent Bordeaux from one of the top recent vintages, but coming from an under-the-radar winery in the Haut-Medoc. Chateau Coufran tends to use more Merlot in their blend, lending the wine some silky, black-fruited elegance which nicely counters the firmer structure and earthiness of the Cabernet from this region. Truly one of our best bargains for stellar 2009 vintage!

2015 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-05-2018
We've gotten in another amazing vintage of Baccinetti Rosso! This small winery is one of K&L's favorites in Montalcino, and for good reason. Add to the high quality of the wine making an almost flawless growing season and vintage in 2015, and you have a recipe for excellence! The wine has generous fruit, but is well balanced by the classic structure and earthy/sandalwood notes of the region. You could certainly enjoy this wine now, but if you forget about it in your cellar for a couple of years, you won't be sorry!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 01-05-2018
Truly one of my favorite Italian red values! This wine is full-bodied, with ripe but not sweet fruit and excellent structure. It's composed of Primitivo, Negroamaro, and Cabernet--think Super-Tuscan, but with a southern Italian twist! Easy to pair with a variety of foods, and not too high in alcohol, this is a great wine for almost any occasion.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-22-2017
If you ask any K&L staff member for a champagne recommendation, this is most likely the bottle they will instinctively reach for. Why? Because this is the wine that time and again has graced our own tables, marked our celebrations, and found its way, more often than not, into our weekly wine diet. This is undeniably one of the best values for true champagne that we offer. The wine is both approachable and layered, with distinctive toast and brioche notes complementing the orchard fruit on the palate. Whether you need some bubbles for your dinner tonight, you want to gift a friend with something special, or you're celebrating with your family, you really can't go wrong with this wine. Enjoy with us!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Oakridge "Over the Shoulder" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 12-05-2017
Probably one of our best values in Chardonnay, vintage after vintage! While this Chardonnay does not lean toward the large, oak-laden variety, it does still exhibit some richness and texture to complement the orchard fruit on the palate. Overall, it is a cleaner, crisper style of wine, with beautiful creamy white pear and honeycrisp apple notes.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 93

2016 Ribbonwood (Framingham) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 12-05-2017
This is an excellent value in Pinot Noir. Marlborough is a world-class area for Pinot, but surprisingly, you can still find stunning values here as well. This wine is bright, medium bodied, full of lovely, clean, red berry fruit with just a hint of clove spice. The tannins are very fine and the acidity, while quite crisp, is well-integrated to the whole.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Comartin Cellars Zabala Vineyard "Stone Row" Arroyo Seco Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 12-02-2017
Snappy and focused, this single vineyard Sauvignon Blanc from Comartin is a new favorite for me. The wine is neither too light nor too vegetal, yet maintains a crisp, citrus-dominated acidity that keeps it fresh and vibrant. On the mid palate it shows lovely round exotic fruit and honeydew melon notes. Very well-made and sure to appeal to a variety of palates!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 Farella Estate Coombsville Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-02-2017
For those of you looking for a serious old-school Napa Cabernet with great structure and aging potential, look no further! The 2013 Farella Estate Cabernet has all the elements of a top-class Napa wine, with a much more reasonable price point. The wine combines lush dark fruit, pungent eucalyptus and mint notes, solid but refined structure, and just a kiss of toasted oak. It's composed of everything you want in a big and bold California Cabernet, without being the slightest bit out of balance or overdone. If you hide this in your cellar for a few years, the result should be stunning.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
VN 95 JS 94

2000 Sarget de Gruaud-Larose, St-Julien
Review Date: 11-25-2017
I may be partial to wines from St-Julien, but this particular bottle certainly outshines its price point by a long shot. It's drinking beautifully at present, but still shows plenty of structure to continue aging. On the palate, the wine shows plenty of bright, red fruit, elegant cigar box spice, and just the right amount of savory development. If you are in the market for a nicely aged Bordeaux that drinks beautifully, I wouldn't hesitate to try this wine.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Domaine des Chezeaux (Ponsot) Griotte-Chambertin Grand Cru
Review Date: 11-25-2017
The Domaine de Chezeaux wines are one of the best values in Burgundy. Considering that they also produce the Ponsot wines, you can hardly go wrong with any of their selections. I was most impressed with their 2015 Griotte Chambertin. The wine, of course, is built to age with a ponderous structure, but the fruit and spice elements are also in perfect balance. Even at this young stage, the wine is elegant, with refined wild cherry, clove, and a savory element that I can only attribute to the soil of the vineyard. All in all, a wine well worth investing in.
Price: $229.00 Add To Cart
BH 92 - 95
Limit of 6 per customer

2015 Domaine Gros Frère & Soeur Echézeaux Grand Cru
Review Date: 11-25-2017
If you're serious about aging something from the incredible 2015 vintage in Burgundy, you can hardly go wrong with this wine. I tasted through a number of Grand Cru offerings from this vintage, and was highly impressed with Domaine Gros Frere Soeur's Echezeaux. The wine is fuller bodied, as you would expect from the vintage, with black fruit notes as well as the classic red fruit. The nose is already highly complex and perfumed, with spice, fruit, floral, and earth elements. On the palate, the wine is tightly structured with full fruit and a lengthy finish. All of the elements for aging are here in spades.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart
BH 90

2015 Powell & Son G-S-M Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 11-25-2017
If you are looking for a powerful wine that is not too dense or fleshy, this is a great buy. Of course the wine is big, coming from the Barossa, but at the same time it is very well balanced, showing plenty of red fruit (particularly plum) and a pleasant structure that is neither too abrasive nor too flimsy. Very well-made. It could certainly age, though I personally love how it is showing now.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2016 Ribbonwood (Framingham) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 11-25-2017
This is an absolutely lovely Sauvignon Blanc which shows round fruit, pretty, apricot blossom aromas, and doesn't fall too far into the peppery, green category of New Zealand Sauvignon Blancs. Rather, its refreshing, pleasant and crisp. A great buy at this price!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

2015 Bryan MacRobert "Steen" Hillside Vineyard Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 11-25-2017
Another great bottle from this very talented winemaker! If you're looking for a white that appeals to a variety of palates, but avoids the common choices of Chardonnay or Sauvignon Blanc, Chenin Blanc is a great choice. This example from Bryan MacRobert has everything a good Chenin should--crisp, clean cut acidity, with good weight and a lovely, honeyed, floral nose.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Ferrero "Pepita" Rosso di Toscana
Review Date: 11-25-2017
If you're looking for a great little rosso for everyday drinking, this is an excellent choice! I love the value and complexity of this wine. It hits all the classic Sangiovese notes--cherry, sandalwood, earth and perfect structure--while being totally open and ready to drink. This is the wine you want to drink on your weeknight, or with a good crew of friends while you're waiting on your Brunelli to age.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-25-2017
In general, I don't drink a lot of rose champagnes, but this is one major exception. When we tasted this wine with the staff, I knew there was a big difference here, and hearing more about the wine-making process from Gary, I quickly saw why I was falling in love with this bottle. This is a drier expression of rose champagne, with plenty of rich, red fruit, and lots of texture, weight, and nuttiness from aging on the cork. Its really an ideal food wine, and I can easily see pairing this with main dishes, whether that's poultry, pork, mushroom-based veggie dishes, or anything you might pair a good Pinot with.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Philippe Foreau "Domaine du Clos Naudin" Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 11-25-2017
This wine is exactly why I love Vouvray. All the richness and texture of the Chenin Blanc shows beautifully in the wine, but restrained and shaped by clean wine-making, and a cool climate. The wine is both elegant and powerful, with great acidity and texture, full, honeyed melon fruit, and clean, floral aromas. Delightful now, it will undoubtedly age beautifully as well.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 10-16-2017
La Massa is a K&L "staple". Year after year we've found this wine to be extremely versatile, friendly, and appealing to many palates. With all the earthy/savory elements of Sangiovese and the power and richness of Cabernet and Merlot, this super tuscan has much to offer. The 2014 is no different, and at this price, you really can't go wrong. Although the wine has all the right components now, I would recommend holding onto it for another year or so to reach its peak drinking window.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2016 Stargazer Riesling Coal River Tasmania
Review Date: 10-06-2017
Open, spice-laden aromas give way to a lovely medium body with great acidity and freshness. The wine is perfectly balanced, with a hint of sweet stone fruit, complementing the exotic and mineral elements. I'd love to try this with a nice curry dish or perhaps some Stilton and dried fruit.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JH 97 BC 96

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 09-29-2017
I am a big fan of Four Pillars, so of course I was excited to see this gin coming in, but what I encountered in this bottle both surprised and delighted me. Rather than jumping out of the bottle at you aromatically, this gin is a bit more subtle, highlighting sweet citrus and spruce notes and developing complexity as you let it sit on your palate. You may not think of gin in terms of sipping, but this would definitely work well for sipping with the complexity and smoothness it exhibits.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1988 Haut-Bages-Averous, Pauillac
Review Date: 09-25-2017
You know you can look to us for Bordeaux bargains, but this beats all. I love the vibrancy and strength showing in this wine, defying its age. The elegant nose is loaded with cigar box, cedar, eucalyptus and cassis, the palate is both full and focused, with great structure and mellow game and fruit notes, and the finish leaves nothing to be desired with a long, spice-laden close. If you love aged Bordeaux as much as we do, this is a perfect bottle to load up on.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2014 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Truly a remarkable deal in Crozes-Hermitage! This wine is not only priced irresistibly, but drinks remarkably well even at this young age. Elegance and richness play well together here, presenting a wine that is full of open, soft, black fruit, but retains some cut and minerality that keeps the wine from being flabby or over-ripe. Domaine des Remizieres continues to impress at every level, and will no doubt reward some cellar time, if you can manage to hold on to a few bottles.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2009 Chateau Bouscassé "Argile Rouge" Madiran
Review Date: 04-25-2017
For those of you who love bold, full-bodied, dark-fruited wines at a great price point, this is one not to miss! This Madiran from a stellar vintage is perfectly aged, with soft, black plum fruit, well-integrated tannin, and lovely savory, earthy notes on the finish. Madiran may have a reputation for being aggressive and overly tannic, but here is a perfect example of why that stereotype is outmoded. Here is a lovely, silky, smooth and perfectly developed bottle whose tannin is quite well placed, and merely adds to the overall power of the wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 WS 90

2016 Terra Santa Ile de Beaute Rosé (Corsica)
Review Date: 04-20-2017
Year after year one of my absolute favorite Rose wines comes from Corsica. The Ile de Beaute Rose is light, elegant and dry, yet has a soft, creamy texture that is hard not to love. The 2016 vintage may be the best year yet for this wine! Composed of 100% Sciaccarellu, this wine has a character all its own. Yes, it is still light, crisp and dry like a classic Provence rose, but there is a bit rounder fruit here, with a softer palate that masks the acidity a bit better than a Provencal wine might.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Les Pins "Les Rochettes" Bourgueil
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This is a truly lovely bottle of wine, whether you are accustomed to Bourgueil, or just looking for a new value red wine. The Cabernet Franc in this wine is neither harsh nor green, but rather displays soft and succulent black berry fruit with a medium body and just a hint of black pepper spice. The wine is extremely well-balanced and quite accessible right off the bat. We owe a lot here to the character and quality of the vintage, but the elegance of the wine making also contributes to the overall harmony of the wine. Try one and see why we are all so excited about this offering!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough
Review Date: 04-15-2017
This year's rosé is rather different from last year's, but just as delicious! While the 2015 rosé boasted lighter, classic Provencal style, the 2016 is much darker in hue, made in saignee style from the Rawiri vineyard. The wine shows lovely blackberry and raspberry notes, with some heft and weight. It's still quite dry, but with a peppery spice and richer fruit component that makes this an ideal food wine. Try this with lighter poultry dishes, veggie dishes, and salmon.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Framingham "Select" Riesling Marlborough
Review Date: 04-14-2017
Framingham's "Select" Riesling is possibly the best wine in their production. I love this wine--it's a perfect balance and expression of Riesling that is neither too austerely acidic nor too cloyingly sweet. It is made in a "Spatlese" style, with slightly later harvest, and some residual sugars, yet it is still very crisp and fresh, with no botrytis influence. Rather, you have the pure fruit flavors of apricot, candied tangerine peel, and ripe honeydew in the forefront, with clean, stony mineral notes and fresh grapefruit acidity in the backdrop. Perfectly composed, and well-structured for the long-haul in terms of aging.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 97

2015 Elephant Hill "Le Phant Rouge" Red Blend Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 04-13-2017
This is one of my favorite $20 reds in the store! I would be happy to find a Bordeaux style blend of this caliber for under $30, but at this price I'm thrilled. Stylistically, this wine sits at a juncture between a polished, modern fruit-forward expression, and an iconic, structured, traditional take. The wine can appeal to both California Cab lovers, and Bordeaux enthusiasts. However, there's a twist! Elephant Hill also incorporates a small amount of Syrah, which adds just the right amount of black pepper spice to make this an all-around stellar selection for almost any occasion.

Page: 1 2 next

More Favorites

Heather Vander Wall is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Heather Vander Wall, click here to join Heather Vander Wall's Personal Sommelier Service.
2016 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé ($21.99)

2012 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino ($29.99)

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana ($39.99)